limitedlkp.blogg.se

Emerson flute history
Emerson flute history





“I intend to keep myself busy as long as I live. Now at the age of 91, DeFord spends his time building flute headjoints in his garage and repairing flutes for students. That's what he did until 1979 when he left Armstrong to create his own flute company, Emerson Flutes.ĭuring the company’s peak years, DeFord had 50 employees who produced 300 flutes per week.

emerson flute history emerson flute history

“Well I met him at the shop there on Sycamore Street and I walked in one day and he said ‘Em’ why don’t you come work for me,” DeFord said.

emerson flute history

However, Emerson DeFord wasn't always in the flute making business.Īfter returning from the Korean War, he inspected airplane parts until 1950 - when he met Edward Armstrong, of Armstrong Flutes. An Elkhart flute maker was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Flute Association to celebrate his contribution over 70 years in the business.







Emerson flute history